Caribbean Postal Union

This section is created so you can have answers to some common questions and queries about the organization. If you require information after consulting this section, please feel free to send us an email using our contact form.

How many countries form the CPU?At present 30 English, French, Spanish and Dutch speaking countries have signed up for membership of the CPU.
In what year was the Caribbean Postal Union established?The CPU was established in 1997.
What does the financial agreement contain? The Financial Agreement states the overall objective for the CPU which is to: “Improve postal services and revenues in the Caribbean region”.
What are the services provided by Caribbean Postal Union to members? • Platform to address collective issues
• Coordinate regional strategic planning
• Planning and coordinating regional postal activities.
• Coordinate joint activities of members
• Coordinate emergency support
• Training
• General representation with third parties
• Representation at other international forums
• Technical support
• Operational support and advice
How can I contact the Caribbean Postal Union (CPU) head office?The CPU head quarters is situated in Castries, Saint Lucia. The office can be reached at telephone number 1(758) 458-1787, Fax: (758) 452-1543 or by filling out our online contact form.
How was funding obtained for setting up the Caribbean Postal Union?Under the "Lome IV Agreement", it was expected that all ACP parties in the Caribbean Region should become beneficiaries.
What are some of the main functions of the Caribbean Postal Union?• to monitor the development and modernization of the postal services in its member countries;
• to improve the operation of the post in relations, among its member countries and between them and countries outside the Union;
• to promote the pooling of human resources and the infrastructures available in member countries;
• to seek the necessary external aid which should provide technical assistance.